February 2021 Book Haul

Last month Claire wrote about her recent purchases. This month Christy is going to share which books she recently bought. 

With an Amazon gift card, I couldn’t resist spending all of it on books. If you’re deciding on your next read, hopefully my list helps you choose. I ordered a mix of mysteries, contemporaries and fantasies!

Have you read any of my recent purchases? Let me know in the comments. I can’t wait to read all of these books. 

1. Lies You Never Told Me by Jennifer Donaldson

44643089

Lies You Never Told Me was published in 2019 and I can’t wait to finally read this book that’s been on my TBR for almost two years. This romantic YA thriller promises to have a shocking ending. I love to be surprised so I hope this one keeps me guessing until the end. 

2. Hot British Boyfriend by Kristy Boyce

53402140

After reading a review of Hot British Boyfriend from Chain of Novels, I knew I had to read this book. It gave me major London Prep and The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight vibes. After getting rejected by her crush, Ellie Nichols joins the study abroad program to London. I love reading YA books set in Europe. In fact, we did a post on YA books set in London last year!

3. The Best Laid Plans by Cameron Lund

49366204. sx318 sy475

The Best Laid Plans is pitched as perfect for fans of Jenny Han. Keely is upset to be the last virgin in her group of friends. The problem: she already knows every guy in her small town. When she meets a new guy named Dean, she’s so excited to flirt with him. But, she’s worried he will be turned off by her lack of experience. Enter Andrew, Keely’s best friend. Fake dating is one of my favorite tropes in YA romance so I’m excited to see how this story plays out. 

4. The Naturals by Jennifer Lynn Barnes 

13597723

After reading The Inheritance Games (review coming soon) I wanted to read another book by Barnes. The Naturals is about a group of teens recruited by the FBI for their special abilities. Cassie can read people and she never thought it made her special. However, the FBI needs her to solve infamous cold cases. But, getting involved with the FBI is a lot more dangerous than she thought. This psychological thriller has been on my TBR for years. Reading another book by Barnes inspired me to finally purchase this one. 

5. Killer Instinct (The Naturals #2) by Jennifer Lynn Barnes 

20409231

I also purchased the second book in the series, Killer Instinct. Cassie has a new problem to solve at the FBI. When a new serial killer emerges, Cassie’s life becomes even more difficult and dangerous. There are five books in the series, but I decided to start with the first two to see if it hooks me. 

6. You Say It First by Katie Cotugno

51822300

From the author of 99 Days, You Say It First is a contemporary political romance. We wrote a post on YA books about politics before the 2020 election and this has been on my TBR since. It promises to be funny and heart-warming. Meg has her life planned out, which includes phone banking for a voter registration center. Colby doesn’t want some rich girl calling him on the importance of voting when his life is falling apart. But, the calls don’t stop and the two might realize that they have more in common than they believed. 

7. Down Comes the Night by Allison Saft

46189814

Spoiler alert: Down Comes the Night is our March 2021 book club pick! We chose this book because it sounds like the perfect fix of fantasy, thriller and romance. A creepy old mansion and a protagonist with magic? Sign me up! This book honestly sounds like nothing I’ve read before. 

8. The Wicked King by Holly Black

26032887. sy475

We’re currently reading The Cruel Prince and I already know that I need to finish this series. I heard that the first book has a cliffhanger, meaning that I’ll need to start The Wicked King right away. I can’t wait to read more about Jude in her time in faerie. This series gives me major Cassandra Clare vibes, especially with the interactions between human and fey. 

9. The Queen of Nothing by Holly Black 

26032912. sy475

To finish the series off, I got The Queen of Nothing to see how Jude and Cardan’s story ends. I’m not sure what to expect since I’m still on the first book. But, hopefully all three in The Folk of the Air series are great. 

Published by I'm All Booked Up YA

We write recommendations and reviews for YA books.

26 thoughts on “February 2021 Book Haul

  1. My tbr is so big and I have so many books to read! 📖📚🙊 But I love the sound of these ones too, there are definitely a few which are right up my street! Xo

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Lies You Never Told Me sounds like such a great book as does You Say It First and Hot British Boyfriend I will need to check them all out.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I really want to start reading Holly Black – I adore the covers and see them crop up so much! I also love the cover for Hot British Boyfriend, that looks like a lot of fun. What a great haul – happy reading!

    Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

<span>%d</span> bloggers like this: