Book Club

January 2023 Book Club: The Killing Code by Ellie Marney

The Book

The Killing Code released in September 2022.

Why did we pick this book?

It’s been a while since we’ve read historical fiction so we thought we’d start 2023 with The Killing Code, a YA historical book set in Washington, D.C. and Arlington, Virginia. The book is set during World War II and as history buffs, we’re intrigued about a book set during this time period. However, it not only focuses on young women in the war effort, it’s also a murder mystery. The book is advertised as perfect for fans of A Good Girl’s Guide to Murder and the comparison only made us more excited. It’s the perfect mystery for a discussion. If you’d like to join us, book club is on January 15, 2023. Email imallbookedupya@gmail.com for the link.

What is this book about?

Kit Sutherland is hired as a codebreaker for the war effort at Arlington Hall. It’s 1943 and the United States is at war in Europe and the Pacific. But that’s not the only thing Kit has to worry about. When fellow girls working for the government are murdered across the DC metro area, Kit is drawn into this dangerous game. Along with fellow codebreakers at Arlington Hall, Kit is determined to do anything to see this through. But solving a high-profile mystery isn’t easy, especially when you’re trying to keep your own secrets hidden.

What other YA books has the author written?

Marney wrote None Shall Sleep, the Every series, White Night, No Limits and the Circus Hearts series. However, this is our first time reading a book by Marney.

17 thoughts on “January 2023 Book Club: The Killing Code by Ellie Marney”

  1. I gotta admit that I’m pretty interested in this, just because it’s set in my state haha! I feel like it’s so rare to find books set in VA, so this definitely excites me, even if it’s not my typical genre pick.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. This isn’t my usual go-to. But it sounds like an interesting book. This seems like a great book to pick and to have discussions around. Thank you for sharing and Happy New Year!

    Lauren

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s