Lists

Holiday Gift Guide: 2022 YA Edition 

Looking for some book gift ideas for the people in your life? We love to give and receive books. Check out the list of our recommended YA books. Some of these are even on our personal wish list this year.

Continue reading “Holiday Gift Guide: 2022 YA Edition “
Lists

The Summer Bucket List Book Tag

Happy Labor Day everyone! With summer season coming to an end, we thought we would participate in one last fun book tag before we switch over to spooky season. We have to admit, this is our favorite time of year. September and October always bring beautiful weather and fun activities.

We saw this tag on Read and Review It and Her Digital Coffee. Their answers convinced us to participate. The tag was originally created by Read by Tiffany.

Continue reading “The Summer Bucket List Book Tag”
Lists

Valentine’s Day Book Tag

Happy Valentine’s Day everyone! It’s the season of love and there’s no better way to celebrate than with a book tag. We got this tag from The Sassy Book Geek and knew we wanted to participate. Let us know your favorite YA romances or just books you love in general in the comments.

1. A Stand Alone Book You Love

20757528

Annie Lucas’s life changes in the blink of an eye when her dad gets offered the pitching coach position for the Kansas City Royals. But it’s off-limits to fall for the hot rookie pitcher, Jason Brody, when your dad is his coach. Except, Brody’s always at the house and Annie can’t get him out of her head. Whatever Life Throws at You is perfect for fans of sports and romance. This is one of our favorite YA romances because of our love of baseball and the chemistry between Annie and Brody. It’s the perfect Valentine’s Day read.

Continue reading “Valentine’s Day Book Tag”
Lists

2021 YA Book Holiday Gift Guide

Need to finish (or start) your holiday shopping? We’ve got you covered. Books are the best gifts in our opinion. We’re sharing with you some of our favorite YA books and the perfect audience for them.

Do you have any books on your holiday list this year? Let us know which ones in the comments.

1. The Hopeless Romantic: Better Than the Movie by Lynn Painter

55710822

Better Than the Movies follows hopeless romantic Liz as she tries to impress her former crush. Enter Wes: the guy next door and a serious pain in the ass. But if Liz can get Wes’s help, she can definitely succeed. But as they spend more time plotting, the more Liz realizes she actually more-than-tolerates Wes—she likes him. Painter’s debut book is perfect for fans of romcoms and those you just want something fun for the holiday season.

Continue reading “2021 YA Book Holiday Gift Guide”
Lists

The ABCs of YA Book Boyfriends

We love when young adult books have romance. It doesn’t matter if it’s a fantasy, thriller, mystery or contemporary. Bring us the romance and the swoonworthy book boyfriends. Below you’ll find some of our favorite guys in YA!

Unfortunately, we haven’t found guys for the letter I, U, V and Y. If you can think of YA guys whose names start with any of these four letters let us know in the comments. 

A. Ash, Killing November by Adriana Mather

35053980

We loved Ash in Killing November and Hunting November. He’s sweet, a total badass and always there for November. The two don’t have the easiest time since someone is always out to get them, but they protect each other no matter what. We loved Ash’s quick wit and ability to read people. He’s the perfect YA book boyfriend for a thriller. 

Continue reading “The ABCs of YA Book Boyfriends”
Lists

Baby It’s Cold Outside Book Tag

credit @ Reading On A Star  

1. Snow Day – What’s your “comfort” book? 

15283043

The Distance Between Us by Kasie West. As our readers know, we love Kasie West books. The Distance Between Us is one of our favorites for its sweet romance. Cayman Myers and Xander Spence have adorable banter, but more importantly, they genuinely grow to care about one another as they tackle some heavy issues. West books always have the perfect blend of romance, humor, and something series, which is why we will always go back to them. 

Continue reading “Baby It’s Cold Outside Book Tag”
Lists

2020 YA Holiday Gift Guide

Ready for the holiday season? We are too! We created a list of books to inspire your gift giving…or to buy for yourself. Need more inspiration? Check out our 2019 gift guide.

Do you usually give books as presents? Let us know in the comments!

1. For Mystery Fans: Dare You to Lie by Amber Lynn Natusch

37534862

Dare You to Lie follows Kylene after he dad was wrongfully convicted of murder. She’s determined to clear his name. But first, she has to back to her old school and deal with a group of guys who ruined her life and reputation. Kylene is a total badass and she uncovers some dark secrets in her small Ohio town. This book is perfect for fans of Karen McManus and Holly Jackson.

Continue reading “2020 YA Holiday Gift Guide”
Lists

YA Books For Sports Fans 

Do you love watching sports? Are cozy Sundays watching football your thing? Or, do you dream of summer days where baseball is the norm? Maybe you prefer the Olympics and cheering on your country. It doesn’t matter which sports you love because we’ve got a story for you. Let us know if you have other sports books that you recommend!

1. Throw Like a Girl by Sarah Henning

Amazon.com: Throw Like a Girl (9780316529501): Henning, Sarah: Books

The description of this book hooked us immediately. Liv Rodinsky made one mistake and it cost her the scholarship from her private school and her softball team. As she tries to navigate public school, Grey Worthington, son of the softball coach who doesn’t think she’s a team player, offers her an opportunity. Liv can play Quarterback for the football team and prove she can be a team player. Only, it’s not easy being the first female on the team and some of the guys can’t accept it. If you like football, badass female characters and a sweet romance, Throw Like A Girl is for you!

Continue reading “YA Books For Sports Fans “
Lists

The ABCs of YA

Witty and Sarcastic Bookclub inspired this post. We picked a favorite YA book for every letter of the alphabet. Look through your read shelf on Goodreads and write your own list. Let us know which of these book you’ve read! This is also the perfect list to build up your TBR if you’re currently staying indoors. Happy reading!

A: Alex, Approximately by Jenn Bennett

Image result for alex approximately

As one of our favorite YA contemporaries ever, Alex, Approximately will make you swoon the entire time. This book has romance, humor and complex family dynamics. Plus, who wouldn’t love Porter Roth?

Continue reading “The ABCs of YA”
Reviews

Review: Juniper Falls series by Julie Cross

Welcome to Juniper Falls, Minnesota, a small town obsessed with hockey. Who cares about the football or basketball team? The entire town loves winter: hockey season. But playing hockey when the entire town is watching adds a lot of stress for these students.

These three books can be read on their own. However, you’ll enjoy them more if you read them in order. The characters do crossover, adding to their overall development.

1. Off the Ice

Image result for on thin ice julie cross

Claire O’Connor never fit in with her peers. That’s why she’s leaving high school early for a dual enrollment program at Northwestern for talented performing arts students. 

Continue reading “Review: Juniper Falls series by Julie Cross”