Book Club

December 2022 Book Club: Christmas After All by Cece Louise

Happy December everyone! We can’t believe how fast 2022 has gone by, especially the past few months. While Bards Alley doesn’t hold December book club meetings because of the busy holiday season, we decided to share our most anticipated holiday read with all of you. Cece Louise is one of our favorite indie authors and we’re ecstatic to read her first contemporary romance.

Continue reading “December 2022 Book Club: Christmas After All by Cece Louise”
Reviews

Review: How to Survive Your Murder by Danielle Valentine

Alice Lawrence never forgave herself for letting her older sister Claire go into the corn maze alone on Halloween night. A year later, she’s the sole witness at her sister’s murder trial. Alice needs to go to the bathroom and calm down before the trail begins, but she’s followed by a girl dressed as Sidney Prescott. “Sidney” asks Alice is she’s sure about the guy who killed her sister. Alice thinks she knows everything about that night and would do anything to relive it to save Claire.

Continue reading “Review: How to Survive Your Murder by Danielle Valentine”
Reviews

November 2022 Mini-Reviews 

Review: Talk Santa to Me by Linda Urban

*We received this book in exchange for an honest review.*

Talk Santa to Me is basically Grandma Got Runover by a Reindeer meets a Hallmark movie.

Frankincense “Francie” was born in a stable. Well, a stable at the Hollydale Holiday Shop, her family’s Christmas store. Francie loves her family’s store more than anything. But this year is annoying. Her Aunt Carol is back and trying to make the store more corporate feeling, a la cousin Mel from Grandma Got Runover by a Reindeer.

Continue reading “November 2022 Mini-Reviews “
Reviews

Review: The Do-Over by Lynn Painter

*We received this book in exchange for an honest review.*

It’s Valentine’s Day! Emilie Hornby can’t wait to share the perfect day with her boyfriend Josh. She has every detail planned and nothing could mess with her excitement. Well, except getting into a car accident, seeing Josh kiss another girl, losing her dream journalism summer program and finding out her dad is moving to Texas. After a horrible day, she seeks comfort from her grandmother, ready to start again tomorrow.

Continue reading “Review: The Do-Over by Lynn Painter”
Reviews

Review: The Final Gambit by Jennifer Lynn Barnes

Over a year after reading The Inheritance Games and The Hawthorne Legacy, we finally finished this amazing trilogy. The Final Gambit was one of our most anticipated books of 2022 and we’re happy to say it lived up to our high expectations.

Avery Kylie Grams is only weeks away from being the richest teenager in the world when she gets control of $46.2 billion. However, the game Tobias Hawthorne left isn’t over…not even close. When Jameson and Grayson return for Avery’s 18th birthday celebration, she expects they’ll be leaving shortly after. But an unexpected arrival changes everything for Avery and the Hawthorne brothers.

Continue reading “Review: The Final Gambit by Jennifer Lynn Barnes”
Reviews

Review: Missing Clarissa by Ripley Jones

*We received this book in exchange for an honest review.*

Missing Clarissa is advertised as perfect for fans of A Good Girl’s Guide to Murder. In 1999, popular cheerleader Clarissa Campbell disappears at a party in the woods the summer before her senior year of high school. No one ever found out what happened to Clarissa.

Continue reading “Review: Missing Clarissa by Ripley Jones”
Book Club

October 2022 Book Club: The Final Gambit by Jennifer Lynn Barnes

The Book

The Final Gambit, the third and final book in The Inheritance Games, released August 30th.

Continue reading “October 2022 Book Club: The Final Gambit by Jennifer Lynn Barnes”
Reviews

Review: Nothing More to Tell by Karen McManus

Brynn Gallagher never thought she’d have to return to Sturgis, Massachusetts, her dumpy hometown. But when her dad tells her they’re moving back, Brynn and her sister Ellie realize they have to attend to Saint Ambrose School, a local private school where Brynn’s favorite teacher was murdered four years ago.

To help her journalist career, Brynn applied for an internship at Motive, a true crime network. When she pitched the idea that the show covers her former teacher, William Larkin, she never suspected for her superiors to go for it. But now that Brynn is back, she’s determined to know the truth. Three students found Mr. Larkin, including Brynn’s former best friend Tripp Talbot.

Continue reading “Review: Nothing More to Tell by Karen McManus”
Lists

Books on Our Autumn 2022 TBR

It’s finally autumn, which means it’s time to go over our TBR list for the season. This list doesn’t include the YA books on our NetGalley shelf, that we shared with all of you last week. There are so many recent and upcoming releases that we can’t wait to start reading. Spoiler alert: our October and November book club picks might be on this list.

Have you read any of our autumn book picks? Let us know in the comments and happy reading!

Continue reading “Books on Our Autumn 2022 TBR”
Lists

Books on Our NetGalley Shelf Part 2

So much to do, so much to read. We’ve been trying not to request too many books on NetGalley so we can have a more reasonable TBR pile and a strong reading percentage. This fall, we have some great books on our NetGalley line up.

We’ve read books by Lynn Painter and Emma Lord before, but were also excited to read books from three new authors. Have you read any of these ARCs yet? Let us know in the comments.

1. Talk Santa to Me by Linda Urban

Talk Santa to Me promises to be a hilarious and adorable romcom full of Christmas cheer. The description gave us Grandma Got Runover by a Reindeer meets a Hallmark movie vibes. All Francie wants is to have the perfect holiday season, stop her aunt from making the family store too corporate and kiss the cute boy next door.

Continue reading “Books on Our NetGalley Shelf Part 2”